A researcher's hands using lab equipment

Dr Simon Newell Early Career Investigator Award

A researcher's hands using lab equipment

Sparks, GOSH Charity and the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (RCPCH) make an annual award for excellence in research to an outstanding young medical research worker in British paediatrics. Nominations are now open until 30 November 2018.


Since 1999, Sparks has funded an annual award that recognises excellence in the field of paediatric research. In February 2017 Sparks became part of the GOSH Charity family, and this award is now jointly funded by both charities. The award is offered to recognise an outstanding young medically qualified researcher in British paediatrics and the selection process is coordinated by the RCPCH.

The award is named in memory of Dr Simon Newell – a renowned and widely respected neonatologist and paediatrician who had a passion to encourage the next generation of paediatric clinicians and researchers. He made an enormous contribution to neonatal medicine across the UK and was a great advocate for paediatric health.

Simon was connected to Sparks throughout his career, first as a researcher, then a member of the Medical Advisory Committee and later a Trustee. This award has been named in his memory and as recognition of the tremendous work he did

The award comprises:

  • A trophy
  • £1000 for the winner
  • £1000 to the winner’s department to buy equipment and cover other expenses such as consumables associated with their work.

The RCPCH will present the winner at the RCPCH Annual Conference in May 2019. The winner will be notified ahead of the conference and the RCPCH will cover the winner’s travel and conference costs.

Nomination process

The deadline for nominations is 30 November 2018 and the process is managed by the RCPCH. To apply, please visit the RCPCH website.

For any questions please contact research@rcpch.ac.uk

Sparks, GOSH Charity, RCPCH logos


Previous winners

2018 Dr Karin Straathoff
2017 Dr Chris Moxon
2016 Dr Manish Sadarangani
2015 Dr Robert Phillps
2014 Dr Marc Tebruegge
2013 Dr Roderick Mitchell and Dr Anthony Wiskin (jointly awarded)
2012 Dr Matthew Murray
2011 Dr Andrew Prendergast
2010 Dr Don Sharkey
2009 Dr Richard F M Chin
2006 Dr Amanda Drake
2005 Dr Howard Clark
2004 Dr Mark Herbert
2003 Dr Deborah Tweddle
2002 Dr Jugnoo Rahi
2001 Dr Paul Winyard
2000 Dr Richard Gilbertson
1999 Dr Jeremy Hull